Israel Independence Day, 1948

May 14, 1948 – Israel is declared to be an independent state and a provisional government is established. Immediately after the declaration, Israel is attacked by the neighboring Arab states, triggering the 1948 Arab-Israeli War.

The UN declared a truce on May 29, which came into effect on June 11 and lasted 28 days.

On July 8, the day before the expiration of the truce, Egyptian forces under General Muhammad Naguib renewed the war by attacking Negba.  The following day, Israeli forces launched a simultaneous offensive on all three fronts. The fighting continued for ten days until the UN Security Council issued the Second Truce on July 18.

In 1949, Israel signed separate armistices with Egypt, Lebanon, Jordan and Syria. The Armistice Demarcation Lines, as set by the agreements, saw the territory under Israeli control encompassing approximately three-quarters of the prior British administered Mandate as it stood after Transjordan’s independence in 1946.

The quest for true peace between Israel and the Arab countries that surround her, still continues today, although Egypt and Israel signed a peace treaty in 1979, followed by a peace treaty between Jordan and Israel in 1994.

In 2008, Israel issued this 1.55 NIS stamp celebrating 60 years of Israeli Independence.

Israel Independence 60 years - 2008


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s